Lab News

Lab Resources

MML resarchers develop microscale technologies for applications in the physical and biomedical sciences. Focus areas in the group include scalable synthesis of nanomedicines, low-cost microfluidic diagnostics for world health, tools for high throughput biomarker discovery and analysis, microscale platforms for probing lipid membranes and ion channels, and new polymer micro/nanofluidic fabrication technologies. MML researchers also develop silicon and piezoelectric MEMS technologies for novel analytical and microactuation platforms. Microfabrication is performed using dedicated facilities in the MML cleanroom, and in the UMD FabLab.

The MML resides within the Dept. of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park, and is affiliated with the Dept. of Bioengineering and the Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. We are a member laboratory of the Center for Nano Manufacturing and Metrology, the Maryland Center for Integrated Nano Science and Engineering, the Center for Energetic Concepts Development, the Greenebaum Cancer Center, and the Maryland Robotics Center. The MML is also an academic partner in the multi-university Micro/Nano Fluidics Fundamentals Focus Center (MF3).